Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Caldecott and Newbery Award Winners

The Caldecott and Newbery Book Awards are the most prestigious of children’s book awards. Both awards are presented annually at the Mid-Winter American Library Association Conference in late January by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

Named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator, Randolph Caldecott, the Caldecott Award was begun in 1938 to celebrate the best of children’s picture books. This award is given to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published in the United States during the preceding year. To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Caldecott Award in 2013, Brian Selznick, 2008 Caldecott Medal winner, created a special 75th anniversary logo.

The Newbery Award was the first children’s book award in the world and is probably the best known and most discussed children’s book award in the United States. Established in 1922, the Newbery Award was named in honor of eighteenth-century English bookseller, John Newbery. It is given to the author of the most distinguished American children’s book published during the preceding year.

More information about Caldecott Award and a complete list of winners since 1938, can be found online. More information about the Newbery Award and a complete list of winners since 1922 can also be found online.

To celebrate these two prestigious awards, The Al Harris Library has a display of some of the many Caldecott and Newbery winners. Come and see our display and see why these books are winners that will likely be loved and read by children for many years to come. While you're there, please pick up a free Caldecott trivia quiz bookmark.

No comments: