Thursday, November 17, 2016

National Book Awards for 2016

Come and check out the 2016 National Book Awards Finalists and Winners display at the Al Harris Library!  The finalists were announced on October 6, and the 2016 winners were announced on November 16 at an awards ceremony in New York City.  The winners by category are: Fiction: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead; Nonfiction: Stamped from the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi; Young People's Literature: March Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell; Poetry: The Performance of Becoming Human by Daniel Borzutzky.

Sponsored by the National Book Foundation, the National Book Award winners are selected in these four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. The Award began in 1950 when a consortium of book publishing groups sponsored the 1st annual National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Their goal was to enhance the public's awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans and to increase the popularity of reading in general. If you would like to find out more about the National Book Awards, please go to

No comments: