Thursday, February 23, 2017

Favorite Books and National Library Week

Do you have a favorite book? A book that has motivated you, entertained you, educated you, and changed your perspective? The Al Harris Library invites you to tell us about your favorite book!

In celebration of National Library Week (April 9th-15th), the Al Harris Library is displaying an exhibit of favorite books. We are asking students, staff, and faculty for information about why this book is a favorite.
If you would like to participate, please leave a comment on the Al Harris Library Facebook page or fill out this form: 

Remember to check out the other displays at the Al Harris Library. You may discover your next favorite book! 

Tuesday, February 07, 2017

Black History Month

 In celebrating Black History Month we recognize the achievements of Black Americans. We do so because the achievements of Black America are historic and inspiring. We do so because recognizing them strengthens the nation. We do so because Black History Month is a deliberate act of inclusion that deepens the understanding of a shared past.
The specter of racism in the 21st century in America is real, and a threat that can not be ignored. We do not live in a “post-racial” country where your skin goes unnoticed, unrecorded or is unimportant. In celebrating Black History Month we recognize a common dream of equality that lies at the heart of our civility and the promise of the nation.

"One might argue the historian is the conscience of the nation, if honesty and consistency are factors that nurture the conscience."

 - John Hope Franklin

Race and History: Selected Essays, 1938-1988

John Hope Franklin, an Oklahoman by birth, strove his whole life to confront and bring light to the terrors and lies that have kept us from becoming a “more perfect union”.  In his spirit the Al Harris Library’s display on Black History Month is an invitation to recognize, celebrate and reflect on the work that lies before us all. 

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

SWOSU Jazz Festival, Feb. 9 & 10, 2017

[ Click here for the latest on the 2017 SWOSU Jazz Festival ... ]

Mark February 10th (Friday) on your calendars for the next 2017 Jazz Festival here at SWOSU. The concert will feature trombonist Bill Watrous and percussionist Stockton Helbing. They will be performing at the Fine Arts Center in the afternoon (1-3 pm) and evening (8-10 pm).  A well-known bop stylist Bill Watrous has been playing jazz for over fifty years and is on music faculty at the University of Southern California Thornton School of Music. Stockton Helbing is not only a drummer, but also a composer, arranger, producer, band leader, educator, music director, author, and entrepreneur. He is an Adjunct Professor of Drumset at the University of North Texas. 

In the meantime stop by the library and check out our new display on jazz! 

Thursday, December 08, 2016

Fall '16 DeStress Fest starts Friday, Dec. 9th

Extended hours Friday, Dec. 9 - Thursday, Dec. 15

The Al Harris Library will be open extended hours Dec. 9-15. View our full Finals Week schedule …


We'll have cookies, crackers, and drinks from 8:00pm until closing.

Let's get physical!

Sweat the stress out with our jump ropes and hula hoops.

Take a reality break!

The Dept. of Business and Computer Science will share their HTC VIVE virtual reality goggles on Tuesday, Dec. 13th and Wednesday, Dec. 14th from 5:00pm-7:00pm.

Woof! Chill with Cooky the Therapy Dog

Cooky will visit the Al Harris Library from 4:00pm-5:0pm Monday, Dec. 12th through Wednesday, Dec. 14th.

The art of taking a break

Color, draw, paint, and craft -- whatever takes your mind off studying. We provide the materials -- you provide the creativity!

Exercise your brain!

We'll have games, puzzles, and other activities to reset your brain.

Destress at the library!

Wednesday, December 07, 2016

Cooking During the Holidays

During the holidays, we gather together with our friends and families and share foods made from our favorite recipes.  It may also be a time when we pull out our favorite cookbooks and browse their pages for the perfect new recipe to try.  Come see our display of favorite cookbooks at the Al Harris Library and check one out!  

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Intermittent Network Outages on Wed., Nov. 23rd, 2016

The SWOSU campus network will be down intermittently on Wednesday, November 23rd, 2016. The library's website and online databases will not be available while the network is down.

During the network outage, off-campus students can access Canvas at this URL:

The libraries will be closed Nov. 23-26 for Thanksgiving Break. The Al Harris Library will reopen on Sunday, Nov. 27th at 3:00pm. The McMahan Library will reopen on Monday, Nov. 28th at 9:00am.

Thursday, November 17, 2016

National Book Awards for 2016

Come and check out the 2016 National Book Awards Finalists and Winners display at the Al Harris Library!  The finalists were announced on October 6, and the 2016 winners were announced on November 16 at an awards ceremony in New York City.  The winners by category are: Fiction: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead; Nonfiction: Stamped from the Beginning by Ibram X. Kendi; Young People's Literature: March Three by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell; Poetry: The Performance of Becoming Human by Daniel Borzutzky.

Sponsored by the National Book Foundation, the National Book Award winners are selected in these four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature. The Award began in 1950 when a consortium of book publishing groups sponsored the 1st annual National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Their goal was to enhance the public's awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans and to increase the popularity of reading in general. If you would like to find out more about the National Book Awards, please go to